Clinique Anti Blemish Solution- individual review

Posted on July 5, 2010

1


If you’ve read my last post, with the overall review of Clinique’s Anti-Blemish Solution, but would like to read in more details about the 3 products that make up the pack then please read on!

Clinique Anti Blemish Cleansing Foam

Clinique Anti Blemish Cleansing Foam

Cleansing Foam- 4/10 Stars

With this pack, the initial thing I was disappointed with was its lack of instructions for use. Some of you may think, “Hey how hard is it to cleanse, tone and moisturize?” well for me, the Cleansing part was a bit of a mystery as I had been using my Laneige Multi Cleanser previously to this and to use that cleanser you have to lather it up in your palm before massaging onto the face. However, with this Cleansing Foam, the technique is different, as you have to wet your face, pump 1 or 2 pumps of the foam into you palm, massage onto your face and then wash away!

Pros – The only good things with this Cleansing Foam is that it had a very light, barely noticeable scent and that the overall product wasn’t irritating on my skin.

Cons – Now the cleanser itself, is (obviously) foamy, but this is a difficult texture to work with as I felt that the foam didn’t have enough cleansing power to it- once you massage it onto the skin, it would turn to liquid and run away down your face. Evidence of it’s weak cleansing power was confirmed when I used the (next step) Clarifying Lotion and found foundation stains on the cotton pad I had been using- this was my day’s foundation, which the Cleansing foam hadn’t even managed to remove! If the cleanser couldn’t even remove my light foundation, I doubt it had/has enough strength to work deep down and so I feel that it fails in it’s ability to unclog pores.

Another sore point with the product is that, whilst it does prevent excess oil, the result means you’ll be left with a dry, tight feel to your skin after cleansing- one of my biggest hates 😦

Clinique Anti Blemish Clarifying Lotion

Clinique Anti Blemish Clarifying Lotion

Clarifying Lotion (Toner) – 3/10 Stars

Pros – There are really only 2 positive things with this Lotion, firstly, the talcum like substance within the liquid (which you have to shake up before you use) seems to be the key thing that helps keep excess oil at bay and another good thing is that the sampler size of this product is more than enough at 100ml- but saying this, are these things really worth it if you consider the cons of the product?

Cons– The first, big mistake with this product revealed itself the very first time I used the Clarifying Lotion and that is the smell! I know that Clinique advertise their products as being fragrance free, in order to help with their anti-irritant promise, but that doesn’t mean the products are free from their natural smells and with this one, the smell can only be described as reminiscent of my old days at school in Science class. Why? Because it smells like alkaline liquid metal; I’m guessing that the talcum residue within the liquid is the cause of the smell. All in all the smell is horrible and it’s hard to fall asleep at night after you use it! A second big “Uh Oh” is the fact that this Clarifying Lotion stung sometimes when I used it! So, sorry, my sensitive combination skin took offence to it! And finally, the design of this bottle is a real pain; it has a screw top lid and you simply pour out or dab onto a cotton pad the amount of product you want to use- this meant that, at times, I would end up pouring out too much product!

Clinique Anti Blemish Solutions Clearing Moisturizer

Clinique Anti Blemish Solutions Clearing Moisturizer

Clearing Moisturizer – 5/10 Stars

Pros – Didn’t irritate my skin, the scent is reminiscent of tea tree oil but not overly powerful and the flip top lid is convenient.

Cons – I found that this Clearing Moisturizer didn’t provide enough moisture throughout the day, that after applying it, it would initially feeling moisturizing but that this feeling would soon vanish and yet it still managed to make my skin appear greasy- this meant that the anti-excess oil feature of the (previous) Clarifying Lotion became useless. Furthermore, this product also lack SPF protection, which is a big drawback, especially when you consider the fact that even my cheap, old, reliable Oil of Olay had SPF in it!

Posted in: Clinique