Body Acne: my 2 step treatment method.

Posted on March 24, 2013

0


Throughout my teenage years I managed to avoid acne, however, the moment my 20’s came round, my hormones decided to go into overdrive and I developed hormonal acne. This type of acne was out of my control; change in eating habits, cleanliness and numerous types of store bought or prescribed, ‘acne busting,’ products didn’t work. It wasn’t until I started drinking Dianette (a form of the pill, prescribed to me by my doctor,) that I managed to get a control over it because the pill helped increase my Oestrogen levels. However, I was still left with acne and acne scars around my upper arms and back- the dreaded, “body acne.”

Now, I’ve often written about my time in Korea, and (no surprise here) it was in Korea, that I managed to learn some beauty habits that helped me cure my body acne! Before I go into explaining how, I should forewarn readers that this method of treatment isn’t suitable for you if you have a nut allergy, as one of the beauty products I use contains “Argan oil,” that is extracted from Argan nuts.

2Easy steps

For my body acne, there are only 2 steps you need to take every time you shower or every other day (if you don’t want to over-exfoliate your skin) and 3 items you need to have in your beauty cupboard!

Exfoliate

What you need: Exfoliating cloth and Shower gel with “Argan oil.”

Exfoliate

 

You read time and time again in beauty magazines that you need to exfoliate in order to scrub off dead skin from your body and encourage, healthier, newer skin to develop- well, this step is true! However, my exception to the rule is HOW to exfoliate; in Korea, women keep their skin immaculately soft and clear by visiting public bath houses often, and using a unique exfoliating cloth for their skin. My MUST have item is this exfoliating cloth!

Close up pic of the cloth's slightly rough texture

Close up pic of the cloth’s slightly rough texture

I’ve not seen this cloth being sold in any of my Western beauty stores, who tend to stock loofah brushes, which I find are too rough for the skin and tend to get mouldy if not stored properly. If you want to find these exfoliating cloths, I recommend you check out the beauty aisle of your local Asian supermarket who now tend to stock this item, which is imported from either Japan or Korea. These cloths are slightly rough to the touch (they have differing levels of roughness, depending on your preferences) and are about half a metre in length.

Argan oil has become very popular in recent years, because of it’s health benefits for your hair and body.

“In cosmetics, argan oil is advocated as moisturizing oil, against [juvenile acne] and flaking of the skin as well as for [nourishing] the hair. This oil has also medicinal uses against rheumatism and the healing of burns … Externally, argan oil is used … for hair as brilliantine, to fortify and … in the treatment of wrinkled or scaly dry skin”. (Wikipedia)

I haven’t tried using the oil for my hair, but I have discovered that it does wonders for your body, and I think that it has been the key thing in helping treat my body acne.

Method: Whilst showering, pass the exfoliating cloth under the water so it’s fully soaked, squeeze a coin-sized amount (or you could use more) of the Argan oil, shower gel onto the cloth and lather up a bit. Take care, and exfoliate your whole body with the cloth, moving in circular motions, aiming to gather a rich lather, to work the product into your skin. Then rinse off.

Moisturize

What you need: “Astral” body moisturiser with Aloe Vera & Vitamin E.

DSC_0111

After exfoliating your skin and drying off, you should reward your skin by smothering it with Astral’s body moisturiser. Funnily enough, I came across this product by chance because it was on sale, and I love moisturisers that have Aloe Vera in it- a good ingredient for helping to heal skin.

In the past, I’ve used pure Aloe Vera gel, but have found that it’s tended to leave my skin feeling sticky- this product doesn’t and it also smells great! If you can’t find this Astral brand of moisturiser, then I would recommend using a body moisturiser with Aloe Vera in it, but one that is more creamy in texture than a gel.

The first time I used this method of exfoliating and moisturising, my skin immediately felt softer to the touch. Two weeks after, my skin was completely smooth and free from acne!

Try out my method and tell me if it works for you! Good luck 🙂

Posted in: Astral, Tutorials