My Beauty Routine: Daytime

Posted on May 23, 2013

0


I’ve been writing this blog for years now, but I don’t think I’ve ever written about my own beauty routine, and so I think it’s time I shared- especially because most of what I do is write reviews of beauty products!

Recently, my skin has changed a bit as I’ve ceased to drink Dianette tablets for my acne; thankfully (touch wood,) my acne hasn’t returned and I think that my beauty routine has helped ensure this! My skin is now also a bit more oily along the T-Zone compared to before, so is combination/sensitive.

My daytime beauty routine is VERY simple, as I don’t want my skin to drown in products but actually be more protected by what the day might throw at me- like UV rays and pollution. I usually use my night-time routine to help my skin repair itself, but I will write more about that in another post 🙂

So as you can see below, these are the only products I use on my skin in the morning- cleanser, serum and moisturiser. I forego using a toner because, in the past, I’ve found that they’ve tended to dry out my skin  or made it way too sensitive.

DSC_0117

Laneige Multi Cleanser

Size: 180ml

Price: I recently re-purchased this from G-Market HERE for a total of ₩15,600 (approx £9.20) but prices can vary, with in-store prices in Korea being up to (if I remember correctly) ₩25,000 or approx £15.

Company info

Laneige is a Korean based company who mainly distribute their products within the far- east and so it seems that only us K-pop crazed or Korean fanatics from the rest of the world might have heard of them.  Being highly endorsed by Korean celebrities- the company’s products can be compared, in terms of quality and pricing, to world widely recognised mid brand companies such as “Lancome, Clinque” and the like.

Product Info:

From the Laneige website, this cleanser is being advertised as:

– A new 4-in-1 cleanser removes makeup, removes sunscreen, exfoliates and cleanses at once.
– Micro-sized dense foam removes makeup completely leaving fresh feeling.
– Mild plant-based cleansing ingredients and Papain enzymes, the exfoliating enzymes extracted from papaya fruit, remove makeup completely and exfoliate for smoother skin.

Product Review

9/10 stars

This Laneige cleanser has been one of my staple beauty products for the past 2 years now and I refuse to use any other cleanser in the morning! A few years ago I had been using another one of Laneige’s cleansers, the “Foaming cleanser,” (which I reviewed HERE) and completely fell in love with it. However, I decided to try this cleanser after being sold it by one of the sales people at their store in Seoul. Previously, I didn’t think to purchase this item because it used to be advertised as having ‘exfoliating beads,’ in it but such beads, I’ve usually tended to had allergic reactions to; but during my visit to the store, the sales assistant demonstrated the cleanser on my hand and I found that it no longer had beads in it- did they change the formulation of the product or had I been mis-informed all this time??

I really LOVE this cleanser because it is very mild, has a barely there yet lovely scent and is effective at making your skin feel refreshed and deeply cleansed. I’m not completely sure if the cleanser can remove all types of makeup (as is advertised) because I tend to use this cleanser during the morning when I’m (obviously) not wearing any make up, however when I have run out of my night time cleanser, and have used this as a substitute, I’ve found that it does help remove my daily BB-Creamed face, but not eye-liner as effective as I would like (panda eyes!) This is why I can give it top marks!

However, I can agree that it has helped contribute to a smoother look to my skin and my skin is looking a tend more clearer compared to when I had yet to use the cleanser a few years ago. I also love that this cleanser (and the other, foaming cleanser,) lasts for a very long time, because you only needs to use about 2cm’s worth of the product and it lathers up a treat. In general, one tube of cleanser will last me for around 9 months!

With either of the Laneige cleansers, I don’t think you can lose out. I just prefer this one over the other- because its one that has become easier for me to purchase time and time again.  It’s definitely a product worth trying and falling in love with 🙂

L’Oreal Youth Code Luminize Serum

Size: 30ml

Price: I bought this from Superdrug during a sale for £12.99 but the usual RRP is about £24.99

Product info:

Being advertised by L’oreal as a product that has been inspired by 10 years of ‘gene science,’ with the ability to help perfect and refine the skins surface for a more luminous, event skin tone.

Product Review:

I have only recently started using serums, because my skin felt very dried out during our long, extended U.K Winter and so decided to try serums because I read that they have

rightly replace the utterly pointless toner as the second step in your twice-daily routine. A serum’s job is quite specific. It’s there to tackle your main skincare woe – acne, sun spots, slackening, rosacea – unlike a moisturiser, which sits on the top to comfort and protect against the elements. Guardian article HERE

In short, a serum’s design means that it’s able to work more deeply into the skin (compared to a moisturiser alone,) and that you can buy serums to target specific problems.

I can’t give a full review of this product yet because I haven’t been using it for long enough, but I will write a full review in a future post!

However, during my initial use on a twice daily basis, I have found that it has left my skin feeling much smoother and my skin glows! I just don’t know if I can afford to re-purchase the product now that it’s back to it’s full RRP price of £24.99 or if I should try another, cheaper serums?

Olay Essentials Complete Care Sensitive Moisturiser with SPF 15

Size: 100ml

Price: approx £5.09

Product info:

Olay Complete Care Moisturising Fluid Sensitive contains a unique combination of essential ingredients. Proven Olay moisturisers give skin hydration for a softer, visibly smoother skin.

Product Review

10/10 stars

This moisturiser is the only product I can naturally give top marks for. Olay is a historic brand and the products are often passed down from mothers to daughters- in fact, this was no different for me! My Mum has always used Olay moisturisers and Olay has been the only product I’ve turned to. During my teenage years, I experimented with other moisturisers which ended up drying out my skin or caused acne/allergic outbreaks, but this moisturiser is the only one that has never presented me with any problems.

Olay, of course, has other moisturisers in their range but I prefer this one because it’s designed for sensitive skin, has a good SPF 15 built into it and it’s SO cheap to re-purchase, especially as Superdrug always seems to have it on sale so I can haul it like crazy!

I love the scent of this moisturiser, as it reminds me of my Mum, and because it’s a very mild sunscreen type smell. The texture isn’t too thick or liquidy and, after application, my skin always feels fully moisturised and smoother. LOVE IT!

So, there we are, my simple 3-step, morning, beauty routine! For me, this combination of products is fool proof for my skin- helping it appear smoother, brighter and a great base for make up!

 

 

